Farm Fresh

… Fresh on to the farm. Here is an occassional chronicle of a new family in a small town.

is he a good baby? are you enjoying motherhood? how is it going?

Porter-

Will you remember these days? Filled with so much tenderness and yet so much doubt? So much love for a person we barely know. We’ve put our lives on pause to see what you will do to the mix. We’ve made changes, or so we think, to our priority list.  We’re scared. We don’t know how to go the grocery store with you, how to sleep, where to put you while we’re in the shower. You bring tears to my eyes when they come to yours. They also come during moments when I feel chained to you, as though I’ve lost my freedom. But maybe I don’t know what that means.  I vacillate between pain and pleasure while you are on my breast. Your dad says “oh my goodness” a lot when you make a face- any face.

Are you a good baby? Am I enjoying motherhood? How’s it going? Questions from a friend.  Above is an answer to the son I’ve had- like it or not, I love him.

Filed under: Random

Leave a Reply

