Farm Fresh

… Fresh on to the farm. Here is an occassional chronicle of a new family in a small town.

Gāyatrī Mantra

My acupuncturist played this for me. I had forgotten it and what it meant, but it brought me peace. Later in the evening, I offered it to Porter hoping it would put us both to sleep and calm my restless mind.  I just revisited some translations of the text.  Over the years I have chanted a lot- sometimes understanding the translation and sometimes not. It never matters, it’s always helpful and calming- even if I don’t know the pronunciation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gayatri_Mantra#Translation

This is what I was chanting:

om bur buva svaha
tat savitur varenyum
bargo devasya dimahi
dyoyonaha prachyodiyat

It was something like that!

oṃ bhūr bhuvaḥ svaḥ
tát savitúr váreṇyaṃ
bhárgo devásya dhīmahi
dhíyo yó naḥ pracodáyāt

Of course my favorite:

Ganesha shananam
shanam ganesha
(and on and on)


Filed under: Random

Leave a Reply

