Farm Fresh

… Fresh on to the farm. Here is an occassional chronicle of a new family in a small town.

Pulled Pork

We are entertaining twice this week so I thought I’d make a shitload of pulled pork. I used three recipes to come up with something. The result includes cumin seeds, fennel seeds, chili powder, molasses, chopped onion and garlic and a splash of cider vinegar(I also did not grind the spices- why bother?). I filled the crock pot with 10 lbs of pork roast, the leg because it was on sale even though most people recommend Boston Butt. I left it in overnight (11pm-7am) and voila.  This morning then, I added ketchup, vinegar and molasses to taste, and it tastes good!

I’m serving this with green bean and potato salad, bread and butter pickles, and for dessert, the Martha Stewart Apricot/Peach upside down mini cakes. Delish.  Also I should mention I made a couple in the 8 oz canning jars and yes, they were beautiful.

Both Martha Stewart and Alton Brown had two recipes that looked good but I wanted to slow cook overnight so I then referred to the below recipe from Natalie for guidance. I was worried about leaving it unattended at night but it worked fine and at 3:30am was still in good shape- not too dry or overcooked.

Pernil Pork from Natalie
Prep Time:
20 Min
Cook Time:
6 Hrs
Ready In:
6 Hrs 20 Min

Calculate

Original Recipe Yield 1 – 3 pound pork loin

Ingredients

4 cloves garlic
1 large onion, quartered
2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
1 tablespoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons ground ancho chile pepper
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons ground black pepper
olive oil
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 (3 pound) boneless pork loin roast
1 lime, cut into wedges

Place the garlic, onion, oregano, cumin, chile pepper, salt, and pepper
into a blender. Pour in the olive oil and vinegar. Puree until smooth.

Spread this mixture all over the pork loin, and place into a slow
cooker.

Filed under: Food

Leave a Reply

